Home > Enlightenment, God, Spiritual, Thoughts > Asking God to Guard Your Heart

Asking God to Guard Your Heart

Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.

“I have never been into wordy Facebook status updates, but I had to get this off my chest. Perhaps I really should start a blog.”

And so I did! I have decided to rekindle the flame with my blog that I started nearly 5 years ago and left hanging. Here’s the rest of today’s “wordy status update” that has turned into a now blog post.

In asking God to guard my heart, this included communication with certain people that I talked to, certain music that I listened to, television shows that I watched, magazines that I read…. it really IS that serious! You have to make a conscious decision to cut things off and truly pick and choose what you are letting into your heart. In doing so, I found myself having stopped listening to mainstream radio because the message in most of the songs was (and still is) so toxic and degrading, especially to women. I had my cable cut off at 22 and started spending my cable money on books so as to grow my home library. I don’t watch television unless there is a football or a basketball game on (baseball & hockey, too, if it’s a Chicago team). What’s ironic about me not listening to the radio or watching television is that…. I work in radio & television!! I used to love my magazines, especially the beloved 800-page fall issue, but found myself circling one thing after the next, having to have them! I found myself daydreaming about having a certain coat or a certain bag or shoe. This is what occupied my mind!

In asking God to guard my heart, this meant refusing to be tied to materialistic objects. As far as cutting people off, what’s funny is they will do you the favor and remove themselves from your life. It’s crazy to me how tied to these things people are. Today, I came to find out information that would prompt me to share this message. Glamour Magazine has named Caitlin Jenner as ‘Woman of the Year’ and a week ago, Cosmopolitan Magazine named the Kardashians as ‘Family of the Year.’ There are hundreds of thousands of people, I’m sure, that will believe this to be true because they will allow whatever in their hearts. I’m thankful to know the difference and not be mesmerized by the things of this world. One of my favorite scriptures is Romans 12:2 – “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.”

Upon posting this status on my Facebook page, many people began to like and comment that they, too, have had a similar revelation, to which I will say the following. Once you know what to look out for, it gets more and more “in your face,” if you will. It gets hard, but you have to pray your way through it! It is a daily battle and it is very easy to get sucked in to the lyrics or the magazine articles or the gossip sites. You have to make a conscious decision of who and what you will and will not let in to your life. If you are diligently trying to better your life and you have close friends and/or family members who are still “doing them” and are completely oblivious to what you are now aware of, it might be in your best interest to slowly step away and love people…. from a distance. Proverbs 4:23 – “Above all else, guard your heart, for everything you do flows from it.”

XO God bless!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

