Home > Books, Enlightenment, Knowledge, Thoughts > Positive Language & The Thoughtful Thirty

Positive Language & The Thoughtful Thirty

{12A97CC3-2F7F-46F8-9528-52282AB6E1F5}Img400

Some time ago, I posted Destructive Language & The Dirty Thirty from Hal Urban’s book, The 10 Commandments of Common Sense. It was a list of 30 ways we can spread poison into our environment without even realizing it. Today, I am going to share with you “The Thoughtful Thirty” – a list of ways we can spread love, inspiration, hope and courage into our environment. This is excerpted from Hal Urban’s book, Positive Words, Powerful Results. The title says it all! In this book, he offers readers two lists of “do’s and don’ts” in order to assist people of all ages in forming better relationships with others.  It is so important to watch the words that come out of our mouths! By no means am I saying that I am perfect and that every word out of my word is just so “right” but I definitely try! And I must admit, the more I diligently and consciously watch what I say, the better my conversations are. Watching my words has also prevented me from having unnecessary arguments! Who wants those anyway?

They say actions speak louder than words. This may be true, but only to an extent. I am still a firm believer that words are just as powerful as actions, if not more powerful. It’s our thoughts that lead to our words which in turn, lead to our actions, and that leads to our habit, character, and destiny. I hope you enjoy this list. Share it with your family and friends and practice it each and every single day!

The Thoughtful Thirty

  1. Give encouragement
  2. Express thanks
  3. Acknowledge others
  4. Extend greetings
  5. Give a compliment
  6. Congratulate someone
  7. Teach, give instructions
  8. Offer words of comfort
  9. Inspire others
  10. Celebrate and cheer
  11. Inquire, express interest
  12. Mend relationships
  13. Make others laugh
  14. Show faith and trust
  15. Share good news
  16. Praise, honor, build-up
  17. Express caring
  18. Show understanding and empathy
  19. Give approval
  20. Extend an invitation
  21. Show courtesy and respect
  22. Give advice and counsel
  23. Apologize
  24. Forgive
  25. Offer to help
  26. Tell the truth
  27. Point out the good
  28. Use terms of affection
  29. Provide valuable information
  30. Communicate love

I felt like I came down to hard on myself when I read “The Dirty Thirty” so reading this list was a breath of fresh air, to say the least. I can honestly say I perform most of these acts of thoughtfulness already, but that doesn’t mean that I should slow down or stop. It’s about doing it more and more, each and every day. What do I have to lose?!

  1. CHRIS HORN
    06/06/2011 at 6:16 pm

    Outstanding! Trish, you are meeting the mark, on this topic. It is the most powerful as you illuminate how thoughts manifest, into character. The 30 are very on point, and shuld be taught to kids like the “ABC’s”. We are more prone to speak these words, if our hearts are refreshed for God, and his character. No need t o identify our faith, if we speak these words, the hearer will know that we live by faith.

    If I could add 1 to the list it would be..#31 Speak Love. On May 31, 2010, my beast friend suddenly died of a heart attack at a young, unexpected age. He believed, lived and breathed all 30 of these words, and used them always from a genuine concern of love, whether in major business meetings, or to a janitor ….they never changed, same words, one love. If I could do one thing to honor him, and his life it would be to master these 30, speak them in love and pass it on to someone else to make it contagious. Mike Wilson, I love you brother and may these 30 words/phrases continue to flow. Thank you Trish, for unlocking, unpacking and unfolding the truth, and these my friend will bring you the journey of a lifetime. CHRIS

    Like

    • 06/22/2016 at 11:31 pm

      Thank you, Chris, for your kind words. Forgive me for such a delayed response (by 5 years!). I am very deeply sorry for the loss of your best friend, Mike. He seems to have been a wonderful human being. God bless you!

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

