Home > Thoughts > Discipline

Discipline

Screen Shot 2016-06-22 at 3.50.59 PM.png

 

I came across an amazing printout and had to share it with you all!

“Discipline is one of the best-kept secrets in the history of mankind.
Discipline is truly one of the greatest allies one can have.
Discipline is the eternal and devoted gatekeeper of success.
Herein lies “The Great Secret” of discipline.
The price of discipline is denial, sacrifice, loneliness, struggle, and often times, pain.
The price has an aura of deception and thus the price appears too high, for far too many to pay.
The group of people that think this way, unfortunately, become the undisciplined.
However, the result and rewards created from discipline are priceless.
The disciplined live in a more structured world of harmony and order crowned with achievement.
The disciplined exude confidence, character, ability, wisdom and strength.
The disciplined are honored the world over.
The disciplined is not a perfect world but, by far, a more rewarding world.
The rewards of the undisciplined are failure, despair, hopelessness, helplessness, imprisonment, and desperation.
The undisciplined exist in a world of confusion, uncertainty, chaos, and regrets.
“The Great Secret” becomes even clearer.
In the end, it is the undisciplined who always pay the higher price.

Examine closely and carefully the two groups in your present surroundings: the undisciplined and the disciplined.
Life will cash your undisciplined checks or life will cash your disciplined checks.
It’s your life, your bank, and your choice!”

Discipline is everything! My mother used to always tell me, “Have discipline! Be disciplined in everything that you do.” I used to think she was crazy telling me that all the time. Of course, the older I got, I understood that there was so much truth to what she had been trying to tell me all along. Discipline is a tough teacher and is so necessary to learn at a young age. If you do not learn the true meaning of “discipline” early on in life, it’s all going to go downhill from there.

Self-discipline has strengthened me in many areas of my life. I used to never carry cash simply because I knew if I had cash on me, be it a $10 bill or a $100 bill, I was going to spend it. Through mind-games and simple tricks, I’ve learned to carry cash and not spend it. I also no longer watch TV. The countless hours I used to spend watching silly shows are now spent doing something so much more productive. Reading! The money I used to give Comcast, I now give to Borders and Barnes & Noble. Investing the money in something so much more productive was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made! And most important, I’ve learned the true meaning of “delayed gratification.” Just because I have the money to buy whatever it is that I have my heart set on does not mean that I need to run out and get it. I’ve learned the meaning of patience. I’ve also learned to not flaunt. That whole, “If you got it, flaunt it” line….. I’m sorry, I just can’t get down with that. If you got it, don’t flaunt it! I prefer being low-key any day!

Discipline is tough. Self-discipline is tougher. It’s symbolizes great strength, will, and determination to not only want better, but to do and to be better!

I have the perfect quote to leave you with…

“If you knew better, you’d do better.”

Categories: Thoughts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

