Home > Thoughts > My Very First Blog Post

My Very First Blog Post

me

Yaay! My very first blog post! Welcome, ladies & gentlemen! I’m so excited to start blogging! I think this is a wonderful way for me to share my thoughts on everything from world events to real life, real people, and real things to relationships to discussing books that I’m reading, things I’m learning, sharing hair, make-up, and fashion tips, tutorials….. there is just so much that I want to talk about!!

Let me start by introducing myself. My name is Titiksha. Most people call me Trish because a) it’s easier, b) they make it seem like foreign names are just so impossible to pronounce, and c) I have just about had it with my name being butchered. I am Indian. I absolutely hate when I tell people I’m Indian and they tell me, “Oh, my grandma is Cherokee.” *blank stare* That would be Native America. Please know your history! I was born & raised in Chicago and I am so in love with the city! I graduated from Michigan State University with a degree in Communications/Mass Media and a specialization in Public Relations. I am a Radio & Television Host. By the way, it is very uncommon for an Indian woman to be in the entertainment industry. In an Indian home, education is #1. Don’t you dare bring home an A- or there will be a price to pay! Indian children are raised to graduate from college, then from medical school, complete residency and become a doctor, only to pay back nearly $1 million in loans, work 18-24 hour days for the rest of your life, and retire at 65?!?! NO, THANK YOU! I’ve never been the typical Indian girl. I have always tried to stay as far away from that brainwashed life as possible, and I take great pride in not blending in with the rest. I landed my first radio show at the age of 19 and kept that show all throughout college. It was, by far, one of the best experiences ever! Soon enough, I ventured off into television because I figured, not only did I have the personality and the voice, but I had the face, too, and I should embrace all of it! My goal is to be the first American-born Indian woman to ______________.  (I left that part blank because there are several goals I have set to accomplish; not just one.)

I have always been wise beyond my years. I am at a point in my life where things that once mattered to me and made such a difference mean absolutely nothing anymore. For example, 3 years ago, if I were to have gone on a $2,500 shopping spree, my first (and only) stop would’ve been to the Louis Vuitton store and I would’ve purchased a $2,300 Monogram Vernis bag. $2,530 with tax. Today, if I were to go on a $2,500 shopping spree, I would be going to my nearest Borders Bookstore and will happily spend ALL of that money on books. Knowledge truly is power! I am so past the materialistic garbage that so many people rely on to define them. My mind, the words I speak, the things I say and the things I do is what defines me. My heart is what defines me. Not Louboutin shoes or a vintage Gucci bag. Now, don’t get me wrong – I LOVE fashion and there are just some things that a girl has to have! I’m not saying that you will never catch me with a Louie bag or rockin’ the red bottoms. You just won’t catch me with those things unless and until “home” has been taken care of and business has been handled first! But for right now, I just can’t justify spending $2,500 on a bag or on a pair of shoes when that money could be going towards something so much more productive. At the end of the day, God keeps every single receipt for every purchase or contribution you have ever made in your lifetime. I just want Him to smile at me for helping others instead of helping only myself. Just my thoughts….

With all the things I have on my mind right now, I think this is pretty sufficient for an introduction. I hope you visit often! Feel free to share your thoughts, I am always open to what people have to say!

In the meantime, you can follow me on Twitter @trishdave

Also, I love, love, love quotes so I’m going to make it a point to share a good quote in each blog post. Today, I shall leave you with…

“Be a rainbow in someone else’s cloud.” – Maya Angelou

Categories: Thoughts
  1. Christina Marie (@MarieXtina)
    03/24/2011 at 6:14 pm

    Love it Trish! Keep it going!

    Like

  2. dana
    03/24/2011 at 6:56 pm

    I love you! cant wait to read the next post!

    Like

  3. Dominique
    03/25/2011 at 11:31 am

    Great introduction Trish!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

